We’re Pregnant

I say we’re pregnant, but really she is pregnant. My beautiful wife. I’m happy for her. I’m happy for us. But it’s different, you know? Here I am, four and a half months away from being a parent, and yet aside from being married to Baby’s mother, I have little connection to this kiddo. I’m not her biological contributor. She won’t look like me. I’ll have to petition a court for adoption to firm up my connection to her. And yet, I love her. She’s not even born and I love her like crazy.

This is a blog dedicated to all of the “other” mothers out there. To us strong, lesbian women fighting for our families. Our tears of joy and wonder, our heartaches and sometimes peripheral space in the world.

Here’s to us.

IMG_7783

Leave a Reply

